OPNsense’s update schedule consists of two major releases each year, which are updated about every two weeks. The major releases’ version number consists of the year and months of release (e.g. 19.1 for the January 2019 release), with the fortnightly updates adding a third number (e.g. 19.1.3 for the third update to 19.1).
Updates can be installed from the web interface, by going to. On this page, you can click Check for updates to search for updates. If they are available, a button will appear to install them.
By navigating to, you can influence the firmware update settings:
- Fimware Mirror: this influences where OPNsense tries to get its updates from. If you have troubles updating or searching for updates, or if your current mirror is running slowly, you can change it here.
- Firmware Flavour: OPNsense is available in different flavours. Currently, these flavours influence which cryptographic library to use: OpenSSL (the default) or its drop-in replacement LibreSSL.
- Release Type: With this setting, you can switch between the regular fortnightly schedule of tested releases (Production) or the newest, not fully tested code (Development). Please leave this setting on “Production”, unless you fully understand the implications of switching.
Major upgrades are recommended to do via VGA display or serial because you can see what is going on.
You can find some documentation about serial access under Serial Access
Major updates are installed offline. So no web interface or SSH is running to monitor the upgrade. If something fails, you need a second connection or direct access to revert the VM or repair the installation.
If you choose option 12 on the console menu on latest release, you are asked if you want to upgrade to the newest version or to the next major release. Type in the major release number (for example “19.1”) and press enter. OPNsense will download all release files for an offline upgrade (kernel, packages etc.) and will reboot afterwards.
After a reboot, it will install all updates and when it is done, it will reboot again, then you should be on the desired release.